Ingredients · African mango
African mango in Payarmin: how much seed extract is in a mL?
African mango is the fourth of 22 lines in Payarmin's 200 mg blend, so one 1 mL serving holds at most 50 mg of the seed extract. The small trial the NIH describes used 150 mg twice a day, or 300 mg, six times that ceiling for a single dropper.
Written by the Payarmin daily deskUpdated
The amount01
How much African mango is in Payarmin?
Payarmin does not print its African mango amount. The label lists "African Mango (Irvingia gabonensis) Seed Extract" fourth, so one 1 mL serving holds at most 50 mg.
The blend is listed from most to least by weight. Line 4 can therefore weigh at most 200 / 4 = 50 mg. It could weigh much less, and the label gives no way to tell. Proprietary blends may hide single amounts (21 CFR 101.36 (eCFR)).
It ranks above green tea, gymnema and ginseng, so its ceiling is the highest of the four glucose-themed plants on this site. Two droppers a day would double that ceiling to 100 mg, if one dropper is 1 mL. The label does not state the dropper size.

Fourth place gives 200 / 4 = 50 mg. An even split gives 200 / 22 = 9.09 mg. The truth sits somewhere between near zero and 50 mg.
What is African mango, and is it related to the mango fruit?
African mango, also called bush mango, is the seed of Irvingia gabonensis, a tree from West and Central Africa. It is not the common mango fruit.
The extract on the label comes from the seed. The supplement is sold mainly for weight and appetite, not for blood sugar. The Memorial Sloan Kettering monograph says evidence for weight loss is weak, with most studies small and of poor methodology (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
Human data on blood sugar are limited (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)). The label does not state an extract ratio or any marker compound.
Against the research02
Does Payarmin have the African mango dose used in studies?
No. The NIH describes African mango studied at 150 mg before lunch and before dinner, which is 300 mg a day. Payarmin's ceiling for one serving is 50 mg.
That trial was small and ran 10 weeks, and the NIH calls the evidence limited (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss). There is no study of the drops themselves.
Take the best case. One dropper at the ceiling is 50 mg, or one sixth of the 300 mg day. Two droppers at the ceiling reach 100 mg, one third. Reaching 300 mg would take six servings at the ceiling, and the label caps use at two droppers.
| Case | African mango per day | Share of 300 mg |
|---|---|---|
| Even split, 1 dropper | 9.09 mg | about 3% |
| Ceiling, 1 dropper | 50 mg | about 17% |
| Ceiling, 2 droppers | 100 mg | about 33% |
| One small trial (150 mg twice) | 300 mg | 100% |
Does African mango help blood sugar or appetite?
The evidence is weak. For weight, the NIH says it is limited (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss), and for blood sugar the human data are scarce (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
The sales page offers "steady natural energy" as a benefit. We found no study tying African mango to energy, and none of the product.
The ADA finds that no supplement is proven to lower glucose (ADA, Vitamins & Supplements). That includes this one. Good habits do more: a 5 to 7% weight loss and 150 minutes of activity a week are the steps with strong support (CDC, Prediabetes).

Payarmin: from $49 a bottle30 mL · 2, 3 or 6 bottles · free US shipping on 3 and 6 · 60-day results-or-refund guarantee
See packsWhat side effects does African mango have?
Reported side effects are gas, headache and trouble sleeping, and one case of kidney failure requiring dialysis has been reported (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
The kidney case is a single report, and it does not set a rate. It is a reason to ask your doctor if you have kidney disease.
The same source lists use with antidiabetic medicines as a caution, because of a possible added glucose effect shown in rats (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)).
Never stop or change a prescribed medicine because of a supplement. Ask your prescriber before adding drops to insulin or a sulfonylurea, since lows are possible (NIDDK, Low Blood Glucose).
The side effects page lists every flagged ingredient in one place.
What else should I check in the blend?
African mango is only the fourth line. Three lines above it and eighteen below it share the same 200 mg.
Check guarana and green tea for caffeine and gymnema for the next glucose-themed plant. The full list covers all 23 lines.
| Name on the label | African Mango (Irvingia gabonensis) Seed Extract |
|---|---|
| What it is | Irvingia gabonensis seed (bush mango) |
| Place on the label | 4 of 22 in the 200 mg proprietary blend |
| Amount per 1 mL serving | Not listed; #4 of 22 in the 200 mg blend, so at most 50 mg per mL |
| Extract footnote | None printed |
| Amount used in research | 150 mg twice a day (300 mg) |
| Strength of evidence | Weak, small trials |
| Marketed or traditional use | Sold for weight and appetite |
| Main caution | Gas, headache, sleep problems; caution with diabetes drugs. |
FAQ03
African mango questions, answered
How many mg of African mango are in Payarmin?
The label does not say. African mango is line 4 of 22 in a 200 mg blend, so one 1 mL serving holds at most 50 mg, and possibly far less. An even split would give 9.09 mg.
What dose of African mango was studied?
The NIH describes 150 mg before lunch and before dinner, 300 mg a day, in a small 10-week trial (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss). Payarmin's ceiling is 50 mg per serving, so one dropper reaches at most one sixth of that.
Is Irvingia gabonensis the same as mango?
No. Irvingia gabonensis is a different tree, also called bush mango. The label uses its seed extract, not the fruit people eat. The two share a common name and little else.
Is there proof African mango helps with weight?
Not strong proof. Memorial Sloan Kettering calls the evidence weak, with mostly small studies of poor methodology (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)). The NIH also calls it limited (NIH ODS, Dietary Supplements for Weight Loss).
Does African mango interact with diabetes drugs?
Possibly. Memorial Sloan Kettering lists use with antidiabetic medicines as a caution, based on rat data (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)). Ask your prescriber before use, and keep taking your medicine as directed.
Can African mango cause side effects?
It can. Reported effects are gas, headache and trouble sleeping, plus one case of kidney failure that needed dialysis (MSKCC, Irvingia gabonensis (African mango)). Stop and call a doctor if something feels wrong.
Who wrote this04
Written and reviewed by
Pages built from the label, the sales page and linked NIH, FDA, CDC, FTC and peer-reviewed sources.
Last updated . See our editorial standards and how we check reviews. This website is a stocked U.S. counter for Payarmin, not the manufacturer or the label's distributor. We are paid when you buy through our order links.
Keep reading
More Payarmin pages
Stocked U.S. Payarmin counter
Ready to try Payarmin?
Check your medicines, then choose a pack. Six bottles have the lowest price per bottle, and three or six ship free in the US. The 60-day guarantee runs from the day you buy.
- Secure checkout
- 60-day money-back guarantee
- Ships from the U.S.
